Skip to main content

Reviews

Updated 12/20/2021

Retro Game Reviews

"Budget" is any retro handheld that is currently below $199.99. 

Personal Top 10 "Budget" Retro Handhelds:

#1 -Retroid Pocket 2 Plus (RP2+) 93% 


Retroid Pocket 2 Plus
Click on Image for GoRetroid Site!


#2-Anbernic RG351V(Using CFW 92%)

#3-Anbernic RG351MP 90%

#4-Anbernic RG-280M 86% (Under $70 + Adam CFW 88%) 🔻

#5-Miyoo Mini (Score 85%) ⬆️

#6-Anbernic RG350P (Adam CFW) 85% 🔻

#7-Anbernic RG350M (Adam CFW) 85% 🔻

#9-PowKiddy V90 83% (if Under $40)


#10-Anbernic RG300X 80% ⬆️


Honorable Mentions:


-Anbernic RG280V (80%) 🔻
-PowKiddy RGB20 (Score 80%) 🔻
-Anbernic RG350 (Score 75%) 🔻
-Dingoo A320 (Too Outdated to Score in 2021 75%. In working order,  still a great collectible...) 🔻
-Anbernic RG-351M (Score 75%) 🔻
-G32 ESP32 Retro Gaming Console (Score 75%)
-Anbernic RG-300 IPS (Score 75%) 🔻
-Anbernic RG-351P (Score 74%) 🔻
-Family Pocket FC3000 (Score 70% if under $25) 🔻
-TrimUI Model S 70% Using Custom FW Workarounds ⬆️
-Retroid Pocket 2 85% $65 (Now Obsolete)🔻

Handhelds I Don't Recommend (Do Not Buy):

-Odroid Go Advance (Score 65%) 🔻
-PowKiddy Q20 Mini (Score 60%) 🔻
-PowKiddy X18 (Score 50%) 🔻
-PowKiddy A30 (Score 40%) 🔻
-My Arcade Gamer Mini (Score 20%)




My Favorite Mainstream Mini Retro Consoles (Top 5)


#1 PlayStation Classic
#2 SNES Classic Edition 
#3 SEGA Genesis Mini
#4 C64 Mini 
#5 NES Classic Edition

About My Reviews: 




Comments

Popular 30 Days

Miyoo Mini Review (Micro Retro Game Handheld)

[UPDATE 1/10/22: The 4th official update from Miyoo drastically improves the screen and audio. The score I'd say now should be updated to 8.5/10.  They are tough to find,  so definitely keep an eye out on the next Miyoo restock.] [UPDATE 12/28: The 3rd Update from Miyoo moderately improves audio issues and RetroArch settings now take effect, so improvements have happened.  It looks like Miyoo used some code from Shaun Inman's work in the new update (without anyone knowing)]  *Using Update 20211226, I'm upgrading my Score on the Miyoo Mini from a 7.8/10 to a 8/10 .  Hopefully we see even more improvements in the near future...There are issues with RA Autosaves crashing games and an assortment of oddities but the latest firmware is an improvement. Some good CFW is really needed. Also appears some emulators are not utilizing screen resolution yet as they are using upscaling to the resolution, but the scaling looks a LOT better now.   *NOTE: If Updating at the moment, be sure t

Review: Retroid Pocket 2 Plus (RP2+) (Retro Game Handheld)

Retroid Pocket 2 Plus $99 Retroid Pocket 2 Plus (RP2+) Initial Review Model: Indigo (GameCube Inspired) Pre-Ordered: 10/30/2021 Shipped: 12/16/2021 Received: 1/5/2022 Initial Review: 1/12/2022 Price Paid: $99 + Shipping  GoRetroid.com Overall Initial Score: 9.3/10 (A) (Price Weighted Very Heavily with all Grades). I plan to revisit this review within a couple months with further findings and as new options become available for the device. This is an initial review based on one long week of heavy use. In the realm of "budget" handhelds, the RP2+ now officially replaces the Anbernic RG351V as my favorite budget option. The 351V was my favorite for the vast majority of 2021. It will be very tough to beat the value of the RP2+ in 2022.  The Good 👍Significantly improved Saturn, Dreamcast, DS & N64 Performance!! 👍Improved Buttons 👍Drastically Improved Firmware/UI 👍No More Retroid OS 👍Setup Is Easy The Bad 👎Right Slider Is Awful 👎Screen Is "Meh" In

Retroid Pocket 2 Plus: First In-Depth Look by Taki (YouTube)

Screenshot from Taki's RP2 Plus Video (YouTube) If you have any interest in the Retroid Pocket 2 Plus ($99), you definitely need to check out Taki's latest in-depth YouTube video! The stock Firmware looks like a huge improvement this time around and it should be a lot easier to setup than the original RP2 which was on the difficult side for setup. Add in improved buttons, a drastically more powerful processor, Android 9 optimization, and a touchscreen, I really don't see any reason to not buy this handheld at $99.  For $99 ... at least on paper, this is the best thing that has happened in the budget priced handheld realm in a while...  The RP2 Plus can be pre-ordered now for $99 + Shipping! Units are expected to ship out by December.  https://www.goretroid.com/products/retroid-pocket-2-plus-handheld-retro-gaming-system

Retroid Pocket 2 Plus Available To Order (Pre-Order) Now

The Retroid Pocket 2 Plus (2.5) and PCB Upgrade ordering is now live! Goretroid.com **This could end up being the best value buy in handheld gaming at $99. My only disappointment at the moment is that it was not stated that this would be a pre-order. I was under the impression like most people that the orders would be ready to go today. It's still a great deal but there was a lack of communication issue when it came to the release... It looks like orders will physically ship out at the end of November or early December.  To keep things simple, I put in an order for an assembled Retroid Pocket 2 Plus for $99 + $12 Shipping. I'll probably also order a PCB Upgrade at some point too. My initial order is in the books so now it's just a waiting game. Giving the current state of shipping system in the US (which is a disaster), I don't expect to have one in my hands until late December.  To upgrade your existing original RP2, the price would be $65 for t

PowKiddy A30 Review

PowKiddy A30 Review Ordered: December 1 2021 Received: December 11 2021 Price Paid: $53.48 including shipping (free) + taxes on AliExpress.  https://a.aliexpress.com/_msgKxWU Overall Score: 4/10 (Stock Setup) The PowKiddy looks cool and has a fun Game Boy Advance retro aesthetic, but that's about it. Anyone hoping for an improvement over the TrimUI Model S (PowKiddy A66) will likely be disappointed unless custom OS workarounds become available. The result is a handheld that looks "ok" but functionality is pretty limited.  The saddest part about the PowKiddy A30 is that it looks good and wasn't that far away from being a good buy. PowKiddy seems to just crank out handheld after handheld but doesn't take the time to make them good... The Good   👍It looks nice, so makes for a decent shelf collectable.  👍For a near Micro-sized handheld, it's still a comfortable size for extended sessions.  T