Skip to main content

Review Policy

 About My Reviews 


Long ago,  I authored many game and console  reviews for independent sites and corporate sites (mostly for Ziff Davis Media and the 1Up Network) that had to follow very specific structures and were almost always reviews of games furnished by the game publishers. 


This is blog is my personal blog and I do not treat it like a corporate or revenue heavy site. I see video games as art and do not believe in strict review formats as different games may call for different approaches. 


I generally do review scores on a 0-10 scale or 0-100 scale. Scores are obviously very subjective, but I consider a 7 to be average or slightly above average today. I do not go out of my way to solicit companies for complimentary products to test and prefer to review things that I purchased with my own money. If I do review a product that was given to me,  it will be prominently noted in the review. A 7 to me might be an 8 for you and that's OK. Art is subjective. 


My primary focus today is with retro games and retro handhelds. 


As a big supporter of retro game emulation and the preservation of video game history, I intend for my reviews to be my own uninfluenced opinions. Documenting the retro handheld hobby is a large priority for me. 





Comments

Popular 30 Days

Review: Retroid Pocket 2 Plus (RP2+) (Retro Game Handheld)

Retroid Pocket 2 Plus $99 Retroid Pocket 2 Plus (RP2+) Initial Review Model: Indigo (GameCube Inspired) Pre-Ordered: 10/30/2021 Shipped: 12/16/2021 Received: 1/5/2022 Initial Review: 1/12/2022 Price Paid: $99 + Shipping  GoRetroid.com Overall Initial Score: 9.3/10 (A) (Price Weighted Very Heavily with all Grades). I plan to revisit this review within a couple months with further findings and as new options become available for the device. This is an initial review based on one long week of heavy use. In the realm of "budget" handhelds, the RP2+ now officially replaces the Anbernic RG351V as my favorite budget option. The 351V was my favorite for the vast majority of 2021. It will be very tough to beat the value of the RP2+ in 2022.  The Good 👍Significantly improved Saturn, Dreamcast, DS & N64 Performance!! 👍Improved Buttons 👍Drastically Improved Firmware/UI 👍No More Retroid OS 👍Setup Is Easy The Bad 👎Right Slider Is Awful 👎Screen Is "Meh" In

Buy The Retroid Pocket 3 or Anbernic RG-552 (Very Early Thoughts)?

Anbernic RG-552 or Retroid Pocket 3?  We have definitely reached the point in retro handhelds where no one has the time and/or money to pick them all up. Between the Retroid Pocket 3 and the Anbernic RG-552, I'm likely picking one of the two up at some point (probably not at launch for either but at some point next year). These two handhelds will likely be strong competitors. I'm leaning RG-552 for the screen but we'll see... I'll already be fairly busy this December/January/February with the Steam Deck, and Retroid Pocket 2 Plus.  Price Final prices are not confirmed yet.  Release Dates Anbernic RG-552 is expected to become available for order/pre-order as soon as November 11, 2021 but that is not confirmed. Retroid Pocket 3 is also expected to become available for order and/or pre-order at some point in November.  Screen (Winner = RG-552)   For the moment I'm leaning towards the Anbernic RG-552 due to the fact that in 4:3, you'll get about 4.7 inch

Miyoo Mini Review (Micro Retro Game Handheld)

[UPDATE 1/10/22: The 4th official update from Miyoo drastically improves the screen and audio. The score I'd say now should be updated to 8.5/10.  They are tough to find,  so definitely keep an eye out on the next Miyoo restock.] [UPDATE 12/28: The 3rd Update from Miyoo moderately improves audio issues and RetroArch settings now take effect, so improvements have happened.  It looks like Miyoo used some code from Shaun Inman's work in the new update (without anyone knowing)]  *Using Update 20211226, I'm upgrading my Score on the Miyoo Mini from a 7.8/10 to a 8/10 .  Hopefully we see even more improvements in the near future...There are issues with RA Autosaves crashing games and an assortment of oddities but the latest firmware is an improvement. Some good CFW is really needed. Also appears some emulators are not utilizing screen resolution yet as they are using upscaling to the resolution, but the scaling looks a LOT better now.   *NOTE: If Updating at the moment, be sure t